

Rural Maryland Council (RMC)Executive Committee Meeting Minutes Date & Time: Wednesday, May 31, 2023, 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Type: Zoom Teleconference

<u>Participants</u>: Chris Benzing, Sara Seitz, Lindsay Thompson, Susan O'Neill, Matt Teffeau, Charlotte Davis, Amanda Clevenger, Megan D'Arcy, Molli Cole

Executive Committee Chair Susan O'Neill welcomed everyone and convened the meeting at 12:08pm. Chair O'Neill asked for a motion to accept the March 24, 2023, meeting minutes. Chris Benzing moved to approve the minutes, Lindsay Thompson seconded the motion to accept the March 24, 2023, meeting minutes. The March 24, 2023, meeting minutes were unanimously approved. Chair O'Neill asked members to review the March 31, 2023, Executive Board meeting minutes and to provide any feedback to staff.

Charlotte Davis provided the financial report, stating that the Council received \$9,119,629 in FY2023 and that all the grant funding has been expended except for \$9,000. Ms. Davis reviewed the remaining expenditures and stated that there is \$33,000 available and asked the Committee's guidance on spending. The Committee discussed returned grant funds in the amount of \$18,000 and whether it should be reverted or should she seek a budget amendment through the Board of Public Works. Chris Benzing made a motion to allow the \$18,000 to be reverted, Lindsay Thompson seconded the motion. The motion to allow the \$18,000 to be reverted was unanimously approved.

The Committee discussed the remaining \$43,083 and Ms. Davis referred to a list of closeout requests that RMC has received. Requests were from Chesapake Culinary Center, MPT, Maryland Agricultural Education Foundation (MAEF), Middletown Memorial Hall, and Aaron's Place. Ms. Davis reviewed outstanding RMC expenditures and recommended that the Committee fund MAEF for \$10,000 and encumber the remaining funds for UMD IGSR and ESRGC for \$33,000. Chair Susan O'Neill asked for a motion to utilize \$10,000 for MAEF and the remaining for UMD IGSR and ESRGC. Chris Benzing moved the motion, Matt Teffeau seconded the motion. The motion to utilize \$10,000 for MAEF and the remaining for UMD IGSR and ESRGC was unanimously approved.

Charlotte Davis reviewed the FY2024 budget and informed the Committee that \$300,000 in additional dollars was received for the Health and Human Services Transportation program which has been incorporated into the budget.

Charlotte Davis reported on the RMPIF Committee, stating that the grant portal closed on May 19, 2023, and 197 Phase 1-Letter of Intent (LOI) applications, requesting over \$17M were received. Ms. Davis stated that the Grant Review Board will meet on June 9 to make Phase 1 - LOI decisions.

Ms. Davis provided the Executive Director's report and reviewed the FY24 workplan. The Committee discussed the following items: Maryland Department's interest in developing an Agriculture Caucus and joining it with the existing Rural Caucus; not including RMPIF legislation in the 2024 session; the Youth Engagement narrative; F3Tech Programs; and updating the RESI Research & Data economic analysis. The Committee supports combining the Agriculture and the Rural Caucus to create the Agriculture and Rural Caucus. Ms. Davis stated that she will discuss this with Secretary Atticks. The Committee agreed that the Council should not pursue RMPIF legislation during the 2024 session. It was recommended to wait until the last year of the current term or wait until the next administration. The Committee discussed the youth engagement piece of the workplan and changing the narrative to focus on opportunities for young people in rural areas, rather than why young people leave. Chair O'Neill asked Committee members to send additional idea to Ms. Davis. The Committee discussed the F3Tech component in the workplan and Ms. Davis stated that she would reach out to Mike Thielke to learn what the plans are for 2023-2024 programming. The Committee discussed the update to the RESI economic analysis, and it was agreed that it should be done every 3 to 5 years.

Charlotte Davis provided an update on the Grant Writer RFP, stating that 6 proposals were received and she recommended two of them. The two included Valerie Mann and Neoma Salveje. Chris Benzing made the motion to accept Valerie Mann's proposal, Lindsay Thompson seconded the motion. The motion to accept Valeria Mann's proposal was unanimously approved.

Charlotte Davis provided an update on the Broadband Forum that will be held on June 21, 2023, at the Crowne Plaza in Annapolis. The Committee discussed the need for a keynote speaker.

Chair Susan O'Neill thanked everyone for attending the meeting, the meeting adjourned at 12:52pm.