

RMC Annual Meeting and Awards Dinner Date & Time: December 1, 2022, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Location: Kent Island Resort, 500 Kent Manor Drive, Stevensville, Maryland 21666

Participants: Brandon Rosario, Lucille Walker, Rebecca Ruppert, Cynthia Bambara, Jeff Kirk, Dawn Luedtke, The Honorable Addie Eckardt, Bill Valentine, Kurt Hoffman, Cesante Alrey, Alice Settle-Raskin, Chris Benzing, Cassie Shirk, Steve McHenry, The Honorable Mike McKay, Dave Wilson, Scott Evans, Sara Seitz, Chris Kaselemis, Mel Litter, Grayson Middleton, Lisa Challenger, Andrea Vernot, Ann Hillyer, David Baker, Heather Tinelli, Connie Dean, Anne Hairston-Strang, Leslie Hart, Selene Wilkes, Roger Manno, Nancy LaJoice, Lettie Wilkes, Roxanne Wolf, Debbie Bowden, Nan Mann, Virginia Albers, Pamela Meredith, Rebecca Hamilton, Sarah Kilmon, Deena Kilmon, Genevieve Croker, Janine Liz, Letitia Nichols, Jamie Williams, Kimberly Kratovil, Melissa Kelly, Claudia Cunningham, John Hartline, Susan O'Neill, John Hickman, Carmella Watkins, Arin Bonner, Beth Brewster, Scott Warner, Santo Grande, Joe Bartenfelder, Carol D'Agostino, Caroline Trossbach, Maria Mougridis, Steve McHenry, Matthew Teffeau, Charlotte Davis, Megan D'Arcy, Amanda Clevenger

Chair John Hartline welcomed everyone and convened the meeting at 6:15pm. Chair Hartline introduced the Nominating Committee Chair Chris Benzing to give the nominations for the 2022/2023 RMC Executive Board and Officers. Chair Benzing thanked Mr. Darius Johnson and Ms. Elizabeth Carven for their service on the Board and welcomed the new members that agreed to join the Board, Mr. Dawson Hunter and Ms. Lori Ratzburg. Chair Benzing reviewed the changes on the slate from last year to this year. Chair Benzing thanked Executive Board Chair John Hartline for his service and stated that he will stay on the Executive Committee as immediate and past chair. Chair Benzing announced that Mr. Scott Warner will be chair of the RMPIF Committee and Ms. Susan O'Neill will be the new Chair of the RMC Executive Board. Mr. Steve McHenry moved that the slate be accepted in its entirety as recommended by the Committee, Mr. Scott Warner seconded the motion. The motion to accept the board slate in its entirety as recommended by the Committee was unanimously approved.

Chair Hartline invited participants to enjoy the buffet dinner before the awards ceremony and the business meeting. The awards ceremony started at 6:45pm. Chair John Hartline presented the Rural Legacy Award to Governor Larry Hogan, Jr. and Secretary Joe Bartenfelder accepted the award on the Governor's behalf. Mr. Matt Teffeau presented the Outstanding Rural Community Volunteer award to Ms. Selena Wilkes. Ms. Debbie Bowden presented the Outstanding Rural Community Development award to the Benedictine School. Mr. Bill Valentine presented the Outstanding Rural Economic award to Western Maryland Works. Ms. Charlotte Davis and Mr. Scott Warner presented the Rural Leadership Award to Senator Addie Eckardt. Chair Hartline presented and accepted the Rural Champion award to Senator Michael Jackson. Ms. Charlotte Davis and Ms. Susan O'Neill presented a special thank you gift to Chair John Hartline for his service to the RMC.

Chair Hartline started the business meeting at 7:45pm. Chair Hartline asked for a motion to approve the September 23, 2022 meeting minutes. Ms. Susan O'Neill made the motion, Mr. Scott Warner seconded the motion. The 9/23/2022 meeting minutes were unanimously approved.

Ms. Charlotte Davis provided the financial report and stated that the grant agreements were sent to the grantees and that the Council plans to get all the grant funds out by the end of the calendar year. **Mr. Steve**

McHenry made the motion to accept the financial report, Mr. Matt Teffeau seconded it. The financial report was unanimously approved.

Ms. Charlotte Davis reported on the RMPIF Committee and shared the Council asked \$9 million in the FY2024 budget. Ms. Davis reported on the Legislative Committee and stated that the Council is proposing draft legislation called the Rural Communities Improvement Act and provided an overview of the legislation. Ms. Davis reported on the upcoming legislative events that will include the Welcome Breakfast on January 13, Legislative Lunch on January 27, Rural Maryland Day, 2/9 and Maryland Day on 3/24.

Chair of the Agriculture Committee Mr. Matt Teffeau reported the Committee will continue to monitor the livestock processing proposal and the agricultural use assessment. Ms. Charlotte Davis reported on the Joint Planning and Development Committee reviewed the 2022 Rural Issues Report with the Board and provided an update on the Membership Campaign. Health Committee Chair Sara Seitz reported on the health and human services transporation roundtables that were held in the fall. Ms. Charlotte Davis provided the Executive Director's Report which included the 2023 RMC calendar, the draft annual report, staff activity reports and the upcoming electric vehicle symposium on February 13.

Chair Hartline asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Steve McHenry made the motion to adjourn the meeting, Mr. Matt Teffeau seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 8:05pm.