

RMC Legislative Committee Meeting Minutes Date: Thursday, July 21, 2022, 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm Location: Hybrid – Zoom/Wye Research and Education Center

Committee Co-Chairs Lindsay Thompson and Chris Benzing, Greg Padgham, MQ Riding, Chris Benzing, Debbie Simkins, John Hartline, Bill Valentine, Susan O'Neill, Andrew Cassilly, Alice Settle-Raskin, Debbie Bowden, Diana Hsu, Janice Palmer, Josh Hastings, Kevin Attics, Susanne Richards, Senator Addie Eckardt, Steve McHenry Dakota Matthews, Charlotte Davis, Megan D'Arcy, Amanda Clevenger

Committee Co-chair Lindsay Thompson welcomed everyone to the meeting at 12:03pm. Cochair Thompson asked if there were any changes to the March 21, 2022 meeting minutes. There were none. Ms. MQ Riding made the motion to accept the 3/21/2022 minutes, Mr. Scott Warner seconded it. The 3/21/2022 meeting minutes were unanimously accepted.

Committee Co-chair Lindsay Thompson provided highlights of the 2022 legislative session and the Committee reviewed the 2022 Legislative Revie. There was no opposition on the adoption of the legislative review.

The Committee discussed the results of the gubernatorial election that was held on July 19, 2022. It was decided that both gubernatorial candidates would be invited to the September 23, 2022 Executive Board meeting. The Committee discussed outreach to candidates and members were asked to reach out to candidates in their district to familiarize with the Council. Additionally, the Council will recognize legislators that served on the Board at the September meeting. Ms. Charlotte Davis stated that the call for Rural Impact Awards nominees will be released in September and up to two legislators are often recognized for the Rural Champion award.

The Committee discussed the content and logistics of RMC legislation, Rural Communities Improvement Act of 2023. It was decided to review the draft language and discuss at the next meeting with comments sent directly to Charlotte Davis by August 12. The final draft will be circulated by email for a virtual vote.

Ms. Charlotte Davis provided an update on the series of roundtables on nonemergency medical transporation and the associated survey.

The Committee decided to schedule an election debrief meeting on November 21, 2022 from 12:00-2:00pm.

Meeting adjourned at 1:02pm.