# RMC Annual Executive Board Meeting Friday, November 30, 2017, 7pm – 9pm, DoubleTree Hilton Hotel, 210 Holiday Court, Annapolis, MD Meeting Minutes

Alice Settle-Raskin

**Duane Yoder** 

## Participants:

**Bea Dewing** 

Jim ArcherSteve PenningtonJanet ArcherMike PenningtonKathy BeisnerShannon ReedRichard C. BlairRichard Reinhardt IICarol D'AgostinoDan Schneckenburger

Kimberly Doran Cindy Stone Michael Doran Matt Teffeau Mike Thielke Diane Doran Kristie Eberly **Bob Tibbs Judy Tibbs** Vanessa Finney Lisa Fitzgerald Roseanna Vogt Ellen Flowers-Fields Scott Warner Jason Gallion Jeff Williams Harford County County Executive, Lara Wilson

Rodney Glotfelty John Hartline Josh Hastings Rick Hemphill

John Hickman

Barry Glassman

Frank Hodgetts RMC Staff:

Chris Kaselemis Executive Director, Charlotte

Commissioner Wilbur Levengood Davis;

Denise MacLeish Program Administrator, Erroll Mattox Meredith Donaho;

Ewing McDowell Administrative Assistant,

Bill McGowan Amanda Clevenger

Steve McHenry Mary O'Keefe Annual Meeting of the Rural Maryland Council (RMC) Executive Board Minutes of November 30, 2017 Page 2 of 3

Chair Josh Hastings called the meeting to order at 7:25p.m.

Chair Hastings called for a round of introductions and requested announcements from participants.

#### Minutes

The Board reviewed the minutes from the September 29, 2017 Fall Quarterly and Executive Board Meeting. No comments or suggestions for revisions were made. A motion was made by Commissioner Wilbur Levengood to accept the minutes. The motion was seconded by Rodney Glotfelty, and all were in favor. The minutes from the September 29, 2017 Fall Quarterly and Executive Board Meeting were accepted unanimously.

## **2017 Rural Impact Awards**

Three awards were presented for the 2017 Rural Impact Award Ceremony. The Outstanding Rural Volunteer Award was received by Mr. J. Robert Tibbs, Jr., a volunteer nominated by the Harford County Farm Bureau, for leadership, dedication, and noteworthy volunteer achievement beyond the call of one's professional duties to help improve their community. The Outstanding Rural Economic Development Award was received by Mr. Mike Thielke, on behalf of the Eastern Shore Entrepreneurship Center, for leadership, dedication, and noteworthy achievement to help improve economic development opportunities in rural communities. The Outstanding Rural Community Involvement Award was received by Dr. William McGowan, former USDA Rural Development State Director for Maryland and Delaware, for leadership, dedication, and noteworthy achievement to help improve rural communities.

## **Committee Reports**

#### **Financial**

Charlotte Davis presented the FY2018 Budget as of November 1, 2017. The Rural Maryland Council has total operating available revenue of \$435,001.86, and total grant expenditures of \$2,693,624.50. A motion was made by Rick Blair to accept the FY18 budget. The motion was seconded by Matt Teffeau, and all were in favor. The FY18 budget was unanimously accepted.

## **Rural Maryland Prosperity Investment Fund (RMPIF)**

Scott Warner, Chair of the RMPIF Committee, provided an update on RMPIF. For RMPIF, a total of 53 applications were submitted with a total of \$4,152,568.00 requested for FY18. A total of 27 grants totaling \$1,571,999.00 were distributed to 27 organizations. For MAERDAF, a total of 119 applications were submitted with a total of \$1,642,296.00 requested for FY18. A total of 34 grants totaling \$680,515.00 were distributed to 32 organizations. Copies of the FY17 grant project summaries were included in the FY17 RMC Annual Report, and were made available to attendees. Chair Warner emphasized the importance of the impact RMPIF funds have on rural communities. Governor Hogan has committed \$6 million for RMPIF in the FY19 budget, there will be a need to advocate for the funds in the upcoming legislative session.

#### **Health Care**

Health Care Committee Co-Chairs, Lara Wilson and Rodney Glotfelty, provided an update. The Committee will continue focus on the updated Rural Health Plan for the State of Maryland. Lara Wilson will present the Rural Health Plan at the 2017 Rural Summit. Lara Wilson and Rodney Glotfelty requested feedback for Phase Two of the Rural Health Plan.

Annual Meeting of the Rural Maryland Council (RMC) Executive Board Minutes of November 30, 2017 Page 3 of 3

#### Legislative

Legislative Committee Co-Chairs, Odette Ramos and Lindsay Thompson, were unavailable to provide an update. Charlotte Davis announced that the Legislative Committee will set-up a meeting in mid-December to finalize 2018 Legislative Priorities. The RMC Legislative Luncheon and Executive Board Meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 26, 2018, in the President's Conference Center West, Miller Senate Building in Annapolis. Rural Maryland Day is scheduled for Thursday, February 8, 2018 in the Neall Conference Room, James Senate Building in Annapolis. The Rural Maryland Council will also be working with Delegate Lierman and Senator Eckardt in the upcoming legislative session on an Angel Investor Tax Credit bill.

### **Rural Maryland Foundation (RMF)**

Charlotte Davis provided an update of the RMF; RMF President, Dan Rider, was unavailable to provide an update. The RMF has completed Phase One of the Transfer of Wealth (TOW) Study with the Center for Rural Entrepreneurship, and will be working on strategies for Phase Two of the TOW project. The RMF will be creating and sharing a meeting schedule for 2018 for Phase Two soon. More information on the TOW project will be shared by Ms. Davis during a breakout session at the 2017 Rural Summit.

#### **GICA**

GICA Representative, Erroll Mattox, provided an update. The next GICA meetings will be announced soon.

## **Executive Director's Report**

Charlotte Davis shared that the Task Force for Rural Broadband has held two meetings since September. The Task Force is finalizing a draft report of recommendations to deliver to the Maryland General Assembly, and will have a meeting during the 2017 Rural Summit on December 1<sup>st</sup>. The RMC has also been busy preparing for the 2017 Rural Summit.

## **New Business**

#### **Nominating Committee and Board Elections**

Nominating Committee Chair, Mike Pennington, reviewed a slate of current RMC Officers and Executive Board Members. Copies of the slate were provided to attendees. Mr. James Hanson, representing the University of Maryland Extension, will replace Mr. Tom Porter. A motion was requested to accept the current slate. A motion was made by Mike Thielke, and seconded by Erroll Mattox. All were in favor, the slate of 2018 RMC Officers and Executive Board Members was unanimously accepted.

## <u>Adjournment</u>

With no other business to discuss, Chair Hastings requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. All were in favor. The meeting adjourned at 8:17 pm.

Next Meeting: Friday, January 26, 2018, 12pm – 2pm, President's Conference Center West, Miller Senate Building, 11 Bladen Street, Annapolis, MD.